Aller au contenu

PORTUGUESE PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS

Legislative elections in Portugal

On October 6, the Portuguese will go to the polls to elect the 230 members of the Portuguese National Assembly and the Prime Minister. For the next four years.

On August 29, the President of the Republic Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa announced the official timetable for Portugal's legislative elections. The pre-electoral period is now open, and direct or indirect advertising in the media outside the electoral campaign is now prohibited in accordance with article 72 of the electoral law of the Assembly of the Republic. The campaign began on September 22 and will end on October 4.

The different political parties

  • the Social Democratic Party is represented by Rui Rio
  • the Socialist Party is led by current Prime Minister António Costa
  • the Left Bloc is led by Catarina Martins
  • the CSD-PP is represented by Assunção Cristas
  • The Unitary Democratic Coalition, which brings together the Portuguese Communist Party and the ecological party the Greens, is represented by Jerónimo de Sousa.
  • PAN (People, Animals, Nature) led by André Silva
     

Voting intentions

With only a few weeks to go before the Portuguese parliamentary elections, the polling organizations have already published their first forecasts. The Multidados conducted a study for the private TV channel TVI to determine the voting intentions of Portuguese voters. The results showed that 35.5% of voters intend to vote for the PS, 20.3% for the PSD, 14.7% for the BE, and 7.9% for the PAN. 

Such a score for the PS would mean the loss of its absolute majority in parliament, while the PAN would become the country's fourth political force, ahead of the PCP (5.6%) and the CDS-PP (3.3%). However, the BE and PAN scores could guarantee a majority and stable support for a new coalition with the PS. Almost 30% of voters said they had no confidence in any party, and 11.5% said they belonged to no party. It should be remembered that abstention in 2015 was 44.14%. Given the abstention rate for the European elections, we can fear the worst.
 

Crisis of right and left exists

At the last legislative elections on October 4, 2015, the right-wing parties (PSD/CDS-PP) won 38.36 % of the vote, including Madeira and the Azores. As for the PS, it too obtained a majority in the National Assembly by joining forces with left-wing partners: the BE, PCP and PEV, setting up the famous "geringonça".

The same poll also highlights a deepening crisis on the right, with the CDS-PP polling just 3.3% of voting intentions. AlthoughAntónio Costa is not certain of winning an absolute majority, the prognosis is that the left will win the elections. The Prime Minister will still have to find a way to strengthen his party's influence in Parliament.
 

1 thought on “ÉLECTIONS LÉGISLATIVES PORTUGAISES”

  1. Pingback: Election In Portugal 45% Abstention | Vivre Au Portugal Consulting

Comments are closed.

VAP Consulting

Our advisors are at your disposal

Hello and welcome to VAP Consulting. Our team is at your disposal to answer any questions you may have.

Powered by WpChatPlugins
en_US

Législative au Portugal

Élection législative au Portugal

Le 6 octobre prochain, les Portugais se rendront dans les bureaux de vote pour élire les 230 députés qui composent l’Assemblée nationale portugaise ainsi que le Premier ministre. Pour les quatre années à venir.

C’est le 29 aout que Le Président de la République Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa a annoncé le calendrier officiel pour l’élection législative au Portugal. La période préélectorale est d’ores et déjà ouverte et la publicité faite directement ou indirectement dans les médias hors campagne électorale est désormais interdite conformément à l’article 72 de la loi électorale de l’assemblée de la République. La campagne a débuté le 22 septembre et se finira le 4 octobre.

Les différents partis politiques

  • le Parti Social-Démocrate est représenté par Rui Rio
  • le Parti socialiste est conduit par l’actuel Premier ministre António Costa
  • le Bloc de gauche est mené par Catarina Martins
  • le CSD-PP est représenté par Assunção Cristas
  • La Coalition Démocratique Unitaire, qui allie le parti communiste portugais et le parti écologique les Verts est  représentée par Jerónimo de Sousa
  • le PAN (personne, animaux, nature) mené par André Silva
     

Les intentions de vote

Il ne reste plus que quelques semaines avant les élections législative au Portugal, les instituts de sondages ont déjà publié leurs premiers pronostics. L’institut Multidados a notamment mené une étude pour la chaîne de télévision privée TVI afin de déterminer les intentions de vote des électeurs portugais. Les résultats ont montré que 35,5% des électeurs ont l’intention de voter pour le PS, 20,3% pour le PSD, 14,7% pour le BE, et 7,9% pour le PAN. 

Un tel score pour le PS signifierait la perte de sa majorité absolue en siège au parlement, tandis que le PAN deviendrait la quatrième force politique du pays devant le PCP (5,6%) et le CDS-PP (3,3%). Cependant les scores du BE et du PAN pourraient garantir une majorité et un soutien stable à une nouvelle coalition avec le PS. Près de 30% des électeurs ont déclaré ne faire confiance à aucun parti et 11,5% ont déclaré n’appartenir à aucun parti. Il convient de rappeler que l’abstention en 2015 était de 44,14%. Vue le taux d’abstention pour les européenne, nous pouvons craindre le pire.
 

Crise de la droite et de la gauche existe

Aux dernières élections législatives du 4 octobre 2015, les partis de droite (PSD/CDS-PP) avaient obtenu 38,36 % des voix en comptant les votes de Madère et des Açores. Quant au PS, il obtenait lui aussi une majorité à l’Assemblée nationale en s’alliant à des partenaires de gauche : le BE, le PCP et le PEV, en mettant en place la fameuse « geringonça ».

Ce même sondage met également en évidence une aggravation de la crise de la droite, en effet le CDS-PP ne récolterait que 3,3%  des intentions de vote. Même si le parti d’António Costa n’est pas certain de remporter la majorité absolue, les pronostics montrent en tout cas que la gauche devrait remporter ces élections. Le Premier ministre devra tout de même trouver un moyen de renforcer l’influence de son parti au sein du Parlement.
 

Une pensée sur “ÉLECTIONS LÉGISLATIVES PORTUGAISES”

Les commentaires sont fermés.